Merrily We Roll Along, Simon Russell Beale & More Win London's Critics' Circle Theatre Awards

Winners have been announced for London's Critics' Circle Theatre Awards, with the Menier Chocolate Theatre's revival of Merrily We Roll Along and Lucy Prebble's The Effect taking home the top prizes. Simon Russell Beale picked up his fourth award for his turn in Timon of Athens in the Best Shakespearean Performance category. The ceremony was held at the Prince of Wales Theatre on January 15, hosted by the organization's chairman Mark Shenton.

Best New Play
The Effect by Lucy Prebble, Cottesloe Theatre at the National in a co-production with Headlong

The Peter Hepple Award for Best Musical (New or Revival)
Merrily We Roll Along, Menier Chocolate Factory

Best Actor
Adrian Lester, Red Velvet, Tricycle Theatre

Best Actress
Hattie Morahan, A Doll’s House, Young Vic Theatre

The John and Wendy Trewin Award for Best Shakespearean Performance
Simon Russell Beale, Timon of Athens, Olivier Theatre at the National

Best Director
Benedict Andrews, Three Sisters, Young Vic Theatre

Best Designer
Miriam Buether, Wild Swans, Young Vic Theatre

Most Promising Playwright
Lolita Chakrabarti, Red Velvet, Tricycle Theatre, 

The Jack Tinker Award for Most Promising Newcomer (Other Than a Playwright)
Denise Gough, Desire Under the Elms, Lyric Hammersmith
Special Award
Shakespeare’s Globe for Globe to Globe