Sweeney Todd, Simon Russell Beale, Judi Dench & More Win Evening Standard Awards

The West End revival of Sweeney Todd, Simon Russell Beale, Judi Dench, Danny Boyle and more were among the winners of the London Evening Standard Awards. The accolades honor the best in London theater. James Corden served as host for the November 25 ceremony at London's Savoy Theatre. A full list of winners is as follows:

Best Play
Constellations, Nick Payne (Royal Court Upstairs)

Best Director
Nicholas Hytner, Timon of Athens (National’s Olivier)

Best Actor
Simon Russell Beale, Collaborators (National’s Cottesloe)

Natasha Richardson Award for Best Actress
Hattie Morahan, A Doll’s House (Young Vic)

Ned Sherrin Award For Best Musical
Sweeney Todd, Chichester Festival and Adelphi

Best Design
Soutra Gilmour, Inadmissible Evidence (Donmar Warehouse) and Antigone (National’s Olivier)

Charles Wintour Award For Most Promising Playwright
Lolita Chakrabarti, Red Velvet (Tricycle)

Milton Shulman Award For Outstanding Newcomer
Matthew Tennyson, Making Noise Quietly (Donmar Warehouse)
Beyond Theatre Special Award
Danny Boyle and his team for the opening ceremony of the London 2012 Olympics

Moscow Art Theatre's Golden Seagull
Judi Dench

Burberry Award for Emerging Director
Simon Godwin

Lebedev Special Award
Nicholas Hytner for his dynamic directorship of the National Theatre

Editor's Award
David Hare for his contribution to theater